I found a great post over at ririanproject.com about Steve Jobs and 10 great quotes that are attributed to him.  I read them, and saw ministry applications that any Pastor could use.  It’s not uncommon that I find truth for my pastoral life in non-pastoral areas, like business.  I’ll post one quote a day and make application.  They speak to me (in varying degrees), so maybe they’ll speak to you too!

#1 Steve Jobs said: “Innovation distinguishes between a leader and a follower.”

I think a quick look around the landscape of the American church scene would prove this to be true.  Many of the churches that are reaching their communities in a big way, are led by men/women that are innovating.  Innovation can take many forms.  It might look like video church, or multi-site church.  It might be an innovation in the type or format of services and outreaches that we are doing in our community.

I absolutely believe that solid, true ministry can and does happen all over the place where there is little innovation.  I personally know of tons of churches that are solid and working hard to feed the spiritual needs of their community, but are not innovating, and therefore have a glass ceiling on the length of the reach that their ministry will be able to achieve.

Where we see growth and community reach happening, we are going to almost always find innovation.  Let’s be leaders that embrace change, opportunities and innovation.  If we don’t, we are probably following, not leading…